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	<title>TIPS BY NATE</title>
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		<title>Plenty of Fish Advertising Tips</title>
		<link>http://www.tipsbynate.com/plenty-of-fish/plenty-of-fish-advertising-tips/</link>
		<comments>http://www.tipsbynate.com/plenty-of-fish/plenty-of-fish-advertising-tips/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 09 May 2012 22:55:26 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Nate</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Plenty Of Fish]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[plenty of fish]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[plenty of fish advertising]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.tipsbynate.com/?p=62</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[I have put this information together from close to 20 posts on the Plenty of Fish blog and wanted to organize this information so it would be easier for myself to learn what the best groups to go after on Plenty of Fish. Here is the quick summary of the information below.  For targeting men [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I have put this information together from close to 20 posts on the Plenty of Fish blog and wanted to organize this information so it would be easier for myself to learn what the best groups to go after on Plenty of Fish.</p>
<p><strong>Here is the quick summary of the information below. </strong></p>
<p>For targeting men you want to pick 18-30 for the United States and 18-50 for the United Kingdom. For women you want to pick 18-50 for United States and United Kingdom. Remember that the UK and Canada have largest unsold traffic, but Canadians are more casual on POF.com.For men you want images with super attractive people on them for women use want to use words that go after their emotions.</p>
<p>For targeting demographics you want to go broad and at the same time segmented, meaning you would go after the 18-30 target but break it up into 3 age groups like 18-22, 23-26,27-30. You want to use all the ads on Plenty Of Fish, this is what the most profitable people do, but you may want to start with the best converting ad the 310 x 110 or 110 x 80 which both show up on the best converting page on Plenty Of Fish the inbox.</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p><strong>After you get some ads converting these are the things you want to look at to get the ad even better conversions.</strong></p>
<p>You want to test the ads clicks with a test that Riley Pool conducted about a year ago, less 20 clicks get the best conversion rate. You want to test the login counts the best converting for this is up to 100 logins and over 550 logins. Once you get converting ads you want to increase your CPM until there is a decrease in profit because the more you spend in CPM the more traffic and better conversions you will get.</p>
<p>Frequency cap should be looked and played with to see what the best converting is for each ad group you have. Once you have split test until you get 9 working ads you can stop split testing and work on scaling those working ads. You want to start duplicating all your working ads, there are some people that are put out 10,000 ads because they will get more ads seen. You want to stop creative frequency cap at 9 per session to get the most impressions.</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p><strong>COUNTRIES IN ORDER OF MOST TRAFFIC TO LEAST</strong></p>
<p><strong>English Speaking:</strong></p>
<ol>
<li>USA</li>
<li>UK</li>
<li>Canada</li>
<li>Australia</li>
<li>Ireland</li>
<li>New Zealand</li>
</ol>
<p><strong>Non-English Speaking (ads &amp; landers must be properly translated to be approved!):</strong></p>
<ol>
<li>Brazil</li>
<li>Mexico</li>
<li>France</li>
<li>Spain</li>
</ol>
<p><strong>AGE GROUPS IN ORDER OF MOST TRAFFIC TO LEAST</strong></p>
<ol>
<li>20-29</li>
<li>30-39</li>
<li>40-49</li>
<li>50-59</li>
<li>&lt;20</li>
<li>60+</li>
</ol>
<p><strong>GENDER SPLIT (Generally Speaking)</strong></p>
<p>Male – 60%<br />
Female – 40%</p>
<p><strong>Things to Note:</strong></p>
<ul>
<li>The most serious intent users: USA</li>
<li>The most casual intent users: Canada</li>
<li>The average age on POF is 34 (It used to be 39)</li>
</ul>
<p>Here are the most open demographics on POF.com with the top one be the most unused traffic.</p>
<p><strong>Males</strong>:<br />
1. 18-30 Canada<br />
2. 18-30 United Kingdom<br />
3. 18-30 United States<br />
4. 30-40 United Kingdom<br />
5. 30-40 Canada<br />
6. 30-40 United States<br />
7. 40-50 United Kingdom</p>
<p><strong>Females</strong>:<br />
8. 40-50 United Kingdom<br />
9. 30-40 United Kingdom<br />
10. 18-30 United States<br />
11. 40-50 United States<br />
12. 18-30 United Kingdom<br />
13. 18-30 Canada<br />
14. 30-40 United States</p>
<p>Even though the United States has 60% of our traffic, <strong>Canada </strong><strong>and the</strong><strong> UK </strong><strong>has more unsold inventory!</strong></p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>Here is the login count breakdown, it seems that the visitors click a lot up until about 100 logins and then it increases again for the power user of 550 login or more.</p>
<p><strong><br />
17% 0-50<br />
11% 50-100<br />
8% 100-150<br />
7% 150-200<br />
6% 200-250<br />
5% 250-300<br />
4% 300-350<br />
3% 350-400<br />
3% 400-450<br />
3% 450-500<br />
2% 500-550<br />
30% 550+</strong></p>
<p><strong>Now that you have the breakdown of % of people with there number of logins on POF.com, he is a quick to use that information for. After an ad gets stale or stops converting you can pause for 2-3 months. </strong></p>
<p>So why not do this automatically with log-in count?</p>
<p><strong>EXAMPLE</strong>: Campaign A is targeting 0-50 log in count &amp; 100-150 log-in count and NOT targeting 50-100. This means when a user signs up for POF.com, they’ll see your ads up until they’ve logged in 50 times (0-50 log in count). Then, as soon as they hit log in 51, you give them a<strong> “log in count break”</strong> and your ads no longer show. Then, your ads reappear to the user after they’ve hit log in count 100-150.</p>
<p>I grabbed this from <a href="http://www.rileypool.com/">www.rileypool.com</a> he did a test about a year ago with the below demographics, as you can see 0-19 clicks is about double what it is for 20 clicks and more.</p>
<ul>
<li>Country = United States</li>
<li>Age Between 18, 24</li>
<li>Gender = Male</li>
<li>Marital Status = Separated, Widowed, Divorced, Single</li>
<li>Browser Type ≠ Android/iPhone</li>
<li>Ads Clicked = 0-4 or 5-19 or 20+</li>
<li>Frequency Cap: 3</li>
<li>Bid: 50c</li>
</ul>
<table width="473" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
<colgroup>
<col width="105" />
<col width="120" />
<col width="128" />
<col width="120" /> </colgroup>
<tbody>
<tr valign="TOP">
<td width="105"><strong>Campaign</strong></td>
<td width="120"><strong>Ads Clicked 0-4</strong></td>
<td width="128"><strong>Ads Clicked 5-19</strong></td>
<td width="120"><strong>Ads Clicked 20+</strong></td>
</tr>
<tr valign="TOP">
<td width="105"><strong>Impressions</strong></td>
<td width="120">300,244</td>
<td width="128">299,129</td>
<td width="120">292,424</td>
</tr>
<tr valign="TOP">
<td width="105"><strong>Clicks</strong></td>
<td width="120">407</td>
<td width="128">428</td>
<td width="120">494</td>
</tr>
<tr valign="TOP">
<td width="105"><strong>CTR</strong></td>
<td width="120">0.136%</td>
<td width="128">0.143%</td>
<td width="120">0.169%</td>
</tr>
<tr valign="TOP">
<td width="105"><strong>Conversions</strong></td>
<td width="120">19</td>
<td width="128">19</td>
<td width="120">12</td>
</tr>
<tr valign="TOP">
<td width="105"><strong>Costs</strong></td>
<td width="120">$150.12</td>
<td width="128">$149.56</td>
<td width="120">$146.21</td>
</tr>
<tr valign="TOP">
<td width="105"><strong>Conv. Ratio</strong></td>
<td width="120"><strong>4.67%</strong></td>
<td width="128"><strong>4.44%</strong></td>
<td width="120"><strong>2.43%</strong></td>
</tr>
</tbody>
</table>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>To keep your ads from becoming stale, you need a certain amount of variety in your campaigns. Even a REALLY good performing ad, will have it’s day as people get used to seeing your ad. So how many ads are required inside a campaign to achieve a good mix of randomness? In other words, how many good performing ads do you need before you can stop?</p>
<p><strong>The magic number is 9.</strong></p>
<p>Frequency cap will also play a role in this equation. POF now has 3 ways to set your frequency cap: per session (fastest), per hour, per day (slowest). So, if you’re going for volume, stick with per session and aim for the 9 creatives. If you’re slowing down delivery, you could probably get away with fewer ads in the rotation but you definitely will not be capitalizing on volume this way.</p>
<p>These are the 4 most important items to look at when setting up your initial campaign for Plenty of Fish.</p>
<p><em>1. Targeting</em><br />
I would start off broad but segmented at the same time. What I mean is, set targeting to only include geo/age/gender (broad targeting set) but segment the demographics up into their own campaigns (segmented). So if you had a campaign that was US, Male, 18-30, I would run it into 3 campaigns:</p>
<p>a) US, Male, 18-22<br />
b) US, Male, 23-26<br />
c) US, Male, 27-30</p>
<p>Breaking up the age demographic is important because ads will convert differently, lets face it we are different people from 20 to 30 and in between.</p>
<p><em>2. CPM</em><br />
Most people bid in $.10 increments but you are better off increasing in non $.10 like going for $.52 to $.58 you&#8217;ll get a much bigger effect.</p>
<p><em>3. Ad Size</em></p>
<p>110×80 = 60% volume<br />
IAB’s (all 3 sizes) = 40% volume</p>
<p>To get the most out of POF.com you will want to use all the sizes, because each sized ad will perform differently based on the size.</p>
<p><em>4. Frequency Cap</em><br />
1. Establish a “baseline” for performance by using our minimum 3/session frequency cap for 7 days (or at least have weekdays vs. weekend traffic).<br />
2. Then raise it as high as it will go before you see a sharp drop in performance. Compare Tuesday this week to Tuesday last week instead of comparing Tuesday and Wednesday.<br />
Here is the breakdown of POF users by log-in count from their website.<br />
17% 0-50<br />
11% 50-100<br />
8% 100-150<br />
7% 150-200<br />
6% 200-250<br />
5% 250-300<br />
4% 300-350<br />
3% 350-400<br />
3% 400-450<br />
3% 450-500<br />
2% 500-550<br />
30% 550+</p>
<p>Now, most POF advertisers are exclusively targeting &lt;50 log-in count (pretty old school strategy). So you have 85% of the advertisers fighting over 17% of the traffic!</p>
<p>Everyone knows that &lt;50 log-in count is the kind of stuff that leads to pay bumps but should we ignore the rest of the log-in counts?</p>
<p>I’ve noticed recently that a few advertisers have been duplicating the same campaign over and over<strong>, they do this for more traffic.  Because if you have lets say 10,000 ads and there are 10,002 seen the ratio for you will be 10,000/10002.<br />
</strong></p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>The best converting page on POF.com is the inbox.</p>
<p>Only the 110×80 text ads and <strong>310×110 SMALL BANNERS</strong> do.<br />
Now, thanks to Mr.Green’s case study, we know that the 310×110′s have the ability to outperform the 110×80′s, would you say that<br />
creating/duplicating 310×110 small banner campaigns would be a good thing to test?</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>The difference between noobs and veterans is the # of ads that are inactive but have a history of impressions. That is, veterans hold onto ads that worked previously, noobies tend to cancel their campaigns and move on.</p>
<p>I’ve heard time and time again that an easy way to profit on POF is to re-run an old campaign that burnt out. Given enough time has passed (2-3 months), perhaps it’s time to give the old money makers another try? Maybe that’s why I rarely see new ads in our top spender’s accounts: They simply just cycle through stuff that’s worked for them in the past. Life’s tough when all you have to do to bank is pause and unpause ads.</p>
<p>Do you have a campaign that died 3 months ago that you paused? Maybe the offer died and now you have a sexy new one? It’s worth a shot to re-run old campaigns to see what happens.</p>
<p><strong>Reduce</strong> the <em>risk</em> of testing new ads, <strong>Reuse</strong> your old campaigns and <strong>Recycle</strong> your <strong>ROI</strong>.</p>
<p><span style="color: #000000;">Here’s a typical scenario: you’re feeling inspired and decide to upload 100 ads (25 images, 4 headlines) for your campaign that is set to a $50/day budget. They say that ~20,000 impressions is a good indicator for future performance. Only problem is, at a $0.50 CPM, properly testing 100 ads in </span><strong><span style="color: #000000;">parallel </span></strong><span style="color: #000000;">would cost you $1000 &amp; 20 days worth of testing. Can you afford to risk $1000 and 20 days to test 100 ads in ONE campaign?</span></p>
<p><span style="color: #000000;">A better way is to submit all ads, get them approved but test them in a </span><strong><span style="color: #000000;">serial </span></strong><span style="color: #000000;">fashion. Out of your 100 ads, test 5 at a time &amp; pause the rest. 5 ads at 20,000 impressions each at $0.50 CPM = $50 (which is coincidentally, our daily budget). You get the results from your 5 and then move onto the next batch and so on and so forth. So this way, if you do find a winner, you’ll end up making a bit of money while testing.</span></p>
<p><span style="color: #000000;">Better yet, the winning creative(s) should influence you to determine which 5 ads you should test next (take note of the winning headline, body text and any characteristics of the image). Maybe it’s a picture of a guy who’s wearing an apron to suggest that he cooks, well look for other guys in aprons or guys wearing stuff that suggests he does chores (rubber cleaning gloves, sponge, vacuum etc).</span></p>
<p><span style="color: #000000;"><br />
</span></p>
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